Ivanka Mogilska

PRAYER

I want to be a cartoon character.  
I want someone to draw me.
To think with my head.
To speak with my mouth.
To be an accomplice in a comic book.
When I mess up,
I want the artist to rub me out.
With an eraser.
And then
draw me once again.
Clean and righteous.
I want to be
part of the matrix
and when things get risky,
I’ll hide in the rows
of identical little screws,
wheels and buttons.
I want to be
the closing credits
and the opening music,
and if possible…
to choose the artist
myself.

* * *

She avoids collisions
not because she’s crystalline.
Not because someone
will hit her
right in the center
of her fragile heart,
will pop her,
shatter
and thousands of shards of “she”
will end up in the trashcan.
She avoids collisions,
because when they break her –
she cuts.

 
POSSESSIONS

The time
it takes you to forget her
is the time
it takes
someone else to remember her.

Translated by Angela Rodel 
Ivanka Mogilska was born in 1981. She studied theater directing for six semesters at theNationalAcademyfor Theater and Film Arts and graduated in public relations from theSofiaUniversity. She is the author of the collection of poetry Otherwise (Janet 45 Print and Publishing, 2010), the novel Hideaways (Janet 45 Print and Publishing, 2007), and the collection of poetry DNA (Janet 45 Print and Publishing, 2004). In 2005, DNA won the Pegasus Award for a Poetic Debut at the Southern Spring Competition inSofia. In 2008, Hideaways was selected by the European First Novel Festival, part of the International Book Festival inBudapest. Ivanka has read her works at theBulgarianCulturalCenterinBudapestand inPecz,Hungary.  In 2010, she took part in the Universal Meeting or Tales on the Phone project as a writer of tales.  Later, the tales were published in a collection. In 2011, she took part in the creation of the performance “DNA of Words” or an instrument for playing poetry along with the artist Albena Baeva. http://www.sifon4o.blogspot.com
Questa voce è stata pubblicata in Poesia e contrassegnata con , , , , , , , , , . Contrassegna il permalink.

Rispondi

